Heart Disease
A Research Guide
What key words will help me find information about heart disease?
Where can I find print resources about heart disease?
What are some good internet sites about heart disease?
SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY
This guide tells how to find information in the library about Heart Disease. If you need assistance, please feel free to ask the Library staff.
1. What key words will help me find information about heart disease?
To find books that can be checked out, choose the SUBJECT search in the online catalog, and type (one at a time) these subjects:
You may also want to browse subjects: when in the catalog, choose BROWSE and type in “HEART DISEASE." This will allow you to browse narrower subjects related to the disease.
2. Where can I find print resources on the Heart Disease in the library?
Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in the Non-fiction Stacks at:
Juvenile non-fiction is not separated from the Adult non-fiction.
When you are doing research, make sure that you search in the reference area as well; these books cannot be checked out like the general collection can, but there is a lot of valuable information available. Some reference books you might look at include
|
R 362.1 HEA 2008
|
Health and Wellness: illness among Americans
|
Available at Ashland, Atlee, and Mechanicsville Branch Libraries.
|
|
R 613 AME
|
American Medical Association complete guide to prevention and wellness
|
Available at Ashland, Atlee, Bookmobile, Goochland, Hanover, King & Queen, Mechanicsville, Montpelier, and Rockville, Upper King William, and West Point Branch Libraries.
|
|
R YA 610.3 ENC
|
Encyclopedia of Health
|
Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, Mechanicsville, and West Point Branch Libraries. |
| R 616.12 AME |
American Medical Association guide to preventing and treating heart disease |
Available at Ashland, Atlee, Mechanicsville, and Montpelier Branch Libraries. |
Your library may not have all these resources available, but other resources will be available — when in doubt, just ask the Library staff.
3. What are some good internet sites about heart disease?
The library subscribes to three online databases with reliable information on bipolar disorder and related illnesses.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center (Library) or (Work, Home, or School): Search for information on fitness, pregnancy, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, substance abuse, prescription drugs, alternative medicine, and more. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites, as well as government databases. This resource is intended for informational purposes only.
Go to guided tour or watch webcast demo (may take a few minutes to load)
- Salem Health: Salem Health provides online access to the bestselling Magill’s Medical Guide. It covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. The Guide provides readers with an authoritative, but easy to use, reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides.
(Outside of the library? Enter Password: finditnow)
- Teen Health and Wellness (Library) or (Work, Home, or School):
Developed with teens' concerns and perspectives in mind, Teen Health & Wellness provides students with comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more. All content is reviewed by leading professionals in medicine, mental health, nutrition, guidance, and career counseling.
There are also a variety of excellent resources on this topic available through the Internet, including:
If you have a particular search term that you would like to use, go to our Rollyo page to search all these resources at once.
You may also want to check out the resources at the Internet Public Library. These websites will provide you with reliable information.
As always, please feel free to ask a Library Staff member, or email us at Ask a Librarian!
● ● ● ●
compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2008)

Comments (0)
You don't have permission to comment on this page.