Small Business and Entrepreneurship
A Research Guide
What key words will help me find information about small business & entrepreneurship?
Where can I find print resources about smal business & entrepreneurship?
What are some good internet sites about small business & entrepreneurship?
SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY
Many people are interested in starting their own businesses but may not know where to begin. This Guide will help you locate both basic information and more specific information to learn what is involved in starting a business and running it. You can find sources for information about topics like business plans, marketing plans, franchises, and legal issues. If you need assistance, please feel free to ask the Library staff.
1. What key words will help me find information about small business & entrepreneurship?
To find books that can be checked out, choose the SUBJECT search in PamCat, our online catalog, and type (one at a time) these subjects (links open in a separate window):
You may also want to browse subjects: when in the catalog, choose BROWSE and type in “small business”. This will allow you to browse narrower subjects related to starting your own business.
2. Where can I find print resources on small business in the library?
Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in non-fiction at:
| 332 |
Financial Economics |
| 338 |
Production |
| 346 |
Private Law |
| 381 |
Commerce |
| 382 |
International Commerce |
| 384 |
Communications; telecommunication |
|
650
|
Business |
| 658 |
General Management |
Juvenile non-fiction is not separated from the Adult non-fiction.
When you are doing research, consider books in the reference area. Unlike our general collection, these books cannot be checked out, but contain valuable information. Some reference books which may interest you include the following (links open in a separate window):
| R 332.6 VAL |
The Value Line investment survey |
Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, and Mechanicsville |
| R 338.02012 NOR US 2007 |
North American industry classification system: United States 2007 |
Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, and Mechanicsville |
|
R 338.74 STA V.1
R 338.74 STA V.2
(2007-2008
2008-2009)
|
Standard & Poor's register of corporations, directors and executives |
Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, Mechanicsville, and Rockville |
| R 338.76 VIR (2007-2008) |
Industrial directory of Virginia |
Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, and Mechanicsville, |
|
R 338.76 VIR V.1, R 338.76 VIR V.2
(2009-2010
2007-2008)
|
Virginia business directory |
Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, Mechanicsville, Rockville, and West Point |
| R 384.33 ELE 2009 |
Electronic America (e-commerce) |
Available at Ashland, Atlee, and Mechanicsville |
R 650 BUS
|
Business: The Ultimate Resource
|
Available at Atlee |
|
R 650 ENC
|
The Encyclopedia of Business
|
Available at Ashland |
|
R 650 WIT
|
The IEBM dictionary of business and management
|
Available at Ashland and Atlee |
|
R 658.1 VIR 2006
|
Virginia business resource directory |
Available at all branch libraries |
|
R 658.8 SEL
|
Getting hits : the definitive guide to promoting your Web site |
Available at Hanover |
|
R 975.546 HAN 2005
|
Hanover County housing and demographics report |
Available at Ashland, Atlee, Hanover, Mechanicsville, Montpelier, and Rockville. |
Your library may not have all these reference books available, but there will be books, magazines, and newspapers that you can check out — when in doubt, just ask the Library staff.
You can also view, select, and download multiple IRS forms and publications for small business at www.irs.gov (Keyword: Forms) or you can call 1-800-829-3676 to order forms and publications through the mail at no cost.
3. What are some good internet sites on starting or growing your own business?
There are a variety of excellent resources about small business and entrepreneurship on the Internet, including sites on the following topics:
An Overview of Small Business
- Allbusiness.com
This commercial portal offers a host of resources for small businesses and entrepreneurs, including expert advice, online tools, and downloadable forms.
|
|
|
|
Chat live with representatives of the Virginia Business Information Center. Includes information and resources on start-up basics, registration, licensing, expansion, taxes, regulation, economic development, tourism & the film industry, insurance & worker's comp issues, technology, and manufacturing.
|
|
|
Getting Started
- CCH Business Owner's Toolkit
Contains answers to business, tax, and legal questions as well as practical advice to help the small-business owner work more efficiently, save money, and comply with guidelines.
|
- Entrepreneur's Help Page
Advice for those looking to start up a new business. Business section includes a checklist and articles on business insurance, buying a franchise, and credit. Financial Advice contains information on financing a new business, venture capital tips, and bank loans. The Legal section explains taxation, bankruptcy, and intellectual property issues.
|
|
|
- Small Business Administration
The SBA provides information on starting, financing, and expanding small business. There is also an online hotlist with many business resources and links to other sites.
|
- Small Business Knowledge Base
Includes ten general categories address small business management issues such as starting-up, Web marketing, and personnel management in a how-to format. Links to book reviews and related sites.
|
- SBA -- Office of Women's Business
Provides information for women starting small businesses. Includes answers to commonly asked questions, information on loans, and programs and resources available.
|
|
|
- U.S. Small Business Advisor
This site provides one-stop access to federal government information, services, and transactions. You can find answers to frequently asked questions (FAQs), use step-by-step guides to locate online resources and regulations, and browse news items of interest to the business community. Services are arranged by category.
|
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes
- U.S. Census Bureau - NAICS Page
The North American Industry Classification System will soon replace its SIC codes. The U.S. Census Bureau created this site to provide detailed information on the new NAICS codes.
|
|
|
Business Plans
|
|
- Carnegie Library of Pittsburg: Business Plans and Profiles Index
This index lists types of small businesses and a corresponding sample business plan, profile or book about the business with sources provided after each entry. Entries that refer to actual sample plans are in bold print. If the plan or profile is online, a link is provided. This not only links to the online version of "Business Plan Handbook" volumes 1-11, but a number of other sites that offer free sample plans.
|
- More Business
Start-up information, sample business plans, and templates, tools, and checklists.
|
Financing and Venture Capital
- Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Compendium of federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and nonfinancial assistance programs administered by departments of the federal government
|
- Garage.com
This California-based group uses the Web to match investors and entrepreneurs
|
- National Venture Capital Association
Most venture capital firms belong to this national association, which is located in Arlington, Virginia. The website is a directory of these firms.
|
|
|
- Vfinance.com!
A global portal for companies in need of private capital and private investors looking for investment opportunities.
|
8(a) & Small Business Resources
The 8(a) program, named for section 8(a) of the Small Business Act, provides participants access to a variety of business-development services, including the opportunity to receive federal contracts on a sole-source or limited-competition basis. Under the 8(a) program, SBA (Small Business Administration) enters into prime contracts with federal departments and agencies and subcontracts the performance of work to disadvantaged small businesses that are certified participants in the program.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
- Small Business Administration Answer Desk
Small Business Administration
Helps small businesses with the complexities of the government. Click on the Site Map, Answer Desk for frequently asked questions, and Spanish Desk.
|
|
|
Legal Resources
Tips for doing legal research on the Internet
-
Get a second opinion. Look at several web sites to see if they agree.
-
Check the date of the publication. What was legal last year may be illegal now.
-
Check to see who is writing the information or producing the site. If you are not sure that the information is correct and timely, consult a lawyer.
|
|
|
|
|
|
-
LawGuru.com
Links to statutes, the Constitution, and other legal sites for every state and territory. Internet law library, access to legal search engines.
|
|
|
Accounting
-
Tax and Accounting Sites Directory
A comprehensive index of tax and accounting resources that provides links to federal and state forms. This site is a useful starting point for small-business owners who need information on tax and accounting topics.
|
-
VSCPA CPA Referral Online
The Virginia Society of Certified Public Accountants provides a free service to help connect a you with a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) in your geographic region that can best meet your financial and business needs. You can look up a company by name or by city, services offered or industries served. A link is provided to find a CPA in another state.
|
Demographics
Home-Based Business
|
|
|
|
- Guru.com
For professionals who are striking out on their own as freelancers. This is a marketplace for connecting consultants and freelancers with contractual jobs.
|
Franchising
E-Commerce
- CommerceNet
Represents an industry association of nearly 150 organizations doing business on the Internet.
|
- Web Marketing Today
This site touts itself as “the largest collection of articles, links, and resources on electronic commerce to be found at any single place on the planet.” One goal is to provide resources for learning how to start an e-business, so that entrepreneurs can spend their time learning rather than searching the Web for information. Topics include store design, online transactions, store software, and model cases.
|
- E-Marketer
Commercial organization offering current awareness in the field of e-commerce.
|
- Electronic Commerce Guide
iWorld’s Guide to Electronic Commerce is a comprehensive resource for commerce on the Internet. It contains a list of links to sites designed to enhance commerce and trade: business promotions, online banking, corporate advertising, sources on government regulations, etc.
|
|
|
- SmartBiz.com
Articles, reports, and checklists on how to do business on the Internet.
|
Magazines & Newspapers
An * denotes magazines and/or newspapers available for checkout at the library.
Organizations and Commissions
- State Corporation Commission
This commission is vested with regulatory authority over many business and economic interests in Virginia. It serves as the central filing agency for corporations in Virginia, sets rates charged by large investor-owned utilities, and provides assistance to Virginians who have valid disputes with regulated companies.
|
- Virginia Center for Innovative Technology
This organization works with companies and organizations throughout Virginia to develop technology industries. Its critical issues: developing the workforce, creating infrastructure, maintaining an entrepreneurial climate, and deploying technology.
|
|
|
|
|
If you have a particular search term that you would like to use, go to our
Rollyo page to search selected web sites on small business and entrepreneurship.
You may also want to check out the resources at the
Internet Public Library. These websites will provide you with reliable information.
As always, please feel free to ask a Library Staff member, or email us at
Ask a Librarian!
PRL Website:
http://www.pamunkeylibrary.org/
E-mail:
ask@pamunkeylibrary.org

● ● ● ●
compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2008)

Comments (0)
You don't have permission to comment on this page.