Get your own free workspace
View
 

African-American History

Page history last edited by Carolyn Garner 2 months, 3 weeks ago

  

AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORY

A Research Guide

 

What key words will help me find information about African American History?

Where can I find print resources about African American History?

What are some good online resources about African American History?

 


SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY

 

This guide tells how to find information in the library about African-American History. If you need assistance, please feel free to ask the Library staff. 

 

 

1. What key words will help me find information about African American history?

 

To find books that can be checked out, choose the SUBJECT search in the online catalog, and type (one at a time) these subjects:

 

 

You may also want to browse subjects: when in the catalog, choose BROWSE and type in “African Americans”. This will allow you to browse narrower subjects within the larger subject heading.  Keep in mind, though, that this will include both fiction and non-fiction works.

 

 

2. Where can I find print resources on African American History in the library?

 

Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in the non-fiction collection at:

 

305.8 [Racial, ethnic, national groups]
323 [Civil & political rights]
973 [United States History]
B [Biographies]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When you are doing research, make sure that you search in the reference area as well; these books cannot be checked out like the general collection can, but there is a lot of valuable information available.  Some reference books you might consider include the following:

 

R 973 AFR 10TH ED

The African American Almanac Available at Ashland, Hanover, and Mechanicsville.
R 920 AFR African American Lives Available at Ashland, Goochland, King & Queen, and Mechanicsville.

R 920 AFR

The African American National Biography

Available at Ashland.

R 973 CIM 

Atlas of African-American History Available at Ashland, Goochland, and Mechanicsville.
R 973 HOR Chronology of African American History: From 1492 to the Present Available at Ashland, Atlee, Mechanicsville, and Montpelier.

R 973 ENC

 

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas Available at Atee, Goochland, and Upper King William.
R 323.1 ENC The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America Available at Atlee.

R YA 973 STU

Student Almanac of African American History Available at Goochland and West Point.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Your library may not have all these titles, but other resources may be available — when in doubt, just ask the Library staff or e-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.

 

Find books & audiobooks, CDs, DVDs & videos, large print materials,
and much more!

       
or go to
Advanced Search

 

3. What are some good online resources about African American history?

 

The library offers access to online reference resources related to history.  If you are logging in from outside the library, you will need your library card number, which you will find on the back of your library card.

  • Salem History: Salem History includes the complete content of three series of historical reference - Milestone Documents, The Decades, and Great Lives from History(Outside of the library?  E-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org for log in instructions)
  • US History Collection (in the Library) or from (Work, Home, or School)
    This collection provides coverage of the current thinking and events in U.S. History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
  • War & Terrorism Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)
    Researchers and students of history, social science, and current events will gain insight into conflicts: their causes, their impact, and how they are perceived on a global scale.
  • World History Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)
    This collection provides balanced coverage of events in World History for both the novice historian and the advanced academic researcher.

 

You may also be interested in our Biographies and More pathfinder.

 

In addition to the resources the library provides, there are a variety of excellent websites that include information on this topic, such as:

 

African American History Month at the Library of Congress.
African American World at PBS.org. 
American Memory Collection of African American History at the Library of Congress.
BlackPast.org, an online reference center.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Search all of the online resources mentioned above for a particular search term with our Google search engine.

 

 

You may also want to check out the resources at the Internet Public Library. This website will provide you with links to reliable information.

 

As always, please feel free to ask a Library Staff member, or email us at Ask a Librarian!

 

 

          

compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2010) 

 

 

 

counter for wordpress

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.