Attention Deficit Disorder
A Research Guide
What key words will help me find information about attention deficit disorder?
Where can I find print resources about attention deficit disorder?
What are some good internet sites about attention deficit disorder?
SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY
This guide tells how to find information in the library about Attention Deficit Disorder. If you need assistance, please feel free to ask the Library staff or e-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.
1. What key words will help me find information about attention deficit disorder?
To find books that can be checked out, choose the SUBJECT search in the online catalog, and type (one at a time) these subjects:
You may also want to browse subjects: when in the catalog, choose BROWSE and type in “Attention Deficit Disorder." This will allow you to browse narrower subjects related to the disorder.
2. Where can I find print resources on Attention Deficit Disorder in the library?
Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in the Non-fiction Stacks at:
|
618.92
|
Gynecology and other medical specialties
|
Juvenile non-fiction is not separated from the Adult non-fiction.
When you are doing research, make sure that you search in the reference area as well; these books cannot be checked out like the general collection can, but there is a lot of valuable information available. Some reference books you might look at include
Your library may not have all these titles, but other resources may be available — when in doubt, just ask a Library staff member or e-mail a Reference Librarian at ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.
3. What are some good internet sites about attention deficit disorder?
Databases
Be sure to have your library card number handy if you are logging in from work, home, or school.
-
Health Reference Center Academic (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)
This database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
-
Nursing & Allied Health Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)
Aspects of the Nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration, are covered in this collection for professionals and students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
-
Sports Medicine & Physical Therapy Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)
This collection covers fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, including topics like proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.
-
Psychology Collection (in the Library) or from (Work, Home, or School)
This collection gives you access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals on the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time.
-
Salem Health: Salem Health provides online access to the bestselling Magill’s Medical Guide. It covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. It’s an authoritative, but easy to use, reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides. First-time visitors will need to click the "Remote Access" tab to enter the database. (Outside of the library? E-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org for log in instructions)
Web Sites
There are also a variety of excellent resources on this topic available through the Internet, including the following sites:
Search all of the online resources mentioned above for a particular search term with our Google Search box.
You may also want to check out the resources at the Internet Public Library. These websites will provide you with reliable information.
As always, if you have a question or need more information, please ask a Library Staff member or email a Reference Librarian at Ask a Librarian!
● ● ● ●
compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2010)

Comments (0)
You don't have permission to comment on this page.