You may also want to browse subjects: when in the catalog, choose BROWSE and type in “Breast Cancer”. This will allow you to browse narrower subjects related to the disease.
2.Where can I find print resources on the Breast Cancer in the library?
Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in the non-fiction collection at:
616.99
Diseases
Juvenile non-fiction is not separated from the Adult non-fiction.
When you are doing research, make sure that you search in the reference area as well; these books cannot be checked out like the general collection can, but there is a lot of valuable information available. Some reference books you might look at include the following:
Your library may not have all these titles, but other resources may be available — when in doubt, just ask the Library staff or e-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.
3.What are some good internet sites about breast cancer?
Databases
Be sure to have your library card number handy if you are logging in from work, home, or school.
This database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Aspects of the Nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration, are covered in this collection for professionals and students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
This collection covers fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, including topics like proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.
This collection gives you access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals on the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time.
Salem Health: Salem Health provides online access to the bestselling Magill’s Medical Guide. It covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. It’s an authoritative, but easy to use, reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides. First-time visitors will need to click the "Remote Access" tab to enter the database. (Outside of the library? E-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org for log in instructions)
Web Sites
There are also a variety of excellent resources on this topic available through the Internet, including:
Comments (0)
You don't have permission to comment on this page.