Get your own free workspace
View
 

Diabetes

Page history last edited by Carolyn Garner 2 months, 3 weeks ago

 

Diabetes

A Research Guide

 

What key words will help me find information about diabetes?

Where can I find print resources about diabetes?

What are some good internet sites about diabetes?

 


SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY

 

This guide tells you how to find information in the library about diabetes. If you need assistance, please feel free to ask the Library staff. 

 

1. What key words will help me find information about diabetes?

 

To find books that can be checked out, choose the SUBJECT search in the online catalog, and type (one at a time) these subjects:

 

You may also want to browse subjects: when in the catalog, choose BROWSE and type in “DIABETES”. This will allow you to browse narrower subjects related to the disease.

 

2. Where can I find print resources on diabetes in the library?

 

Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in the Non-fiction Stacks at:

 

616.462

Diseases
641.5 Cookery (Specialized)

 

Note: Juvenile non-fiction is not separated from the Adult non-fiction.

 

When you are doing research, make sure that you search in the reference area as well; these books cannot be checked out (like the general collection), but there is a lot of valuable information available.  Some reference books you might look at include

 

R 362.1 HEA 2008

Health and Wellness: illness among Americans

Available at Ashland, Atlee, and Mechanicsville Branch Libraries.

R 613 AME

American Medical Association complete guide to prevention and wellness

Available at Ashland, Atlee, Bookmobile, Goochland, Hanover, King & Queen, Mechanicsville, Montpelier, and Rockville, Upper King William, and West Point Branch Libraries.

R YA 610.3 ENC

Encyclopedia of Health

 

Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, Mechanicsville, and West Point Branch Libraries.

 

Your library may not have all these resources available, but other titles may be available — when in doubt, just ask the Library staff or e-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.

 

Find books & audiobooks, CDs, DVDs & videos, large print materials,
and much more!

       
or go to
Advanced Search


 

3. What are some good internet sites about diseases?

 

Databases

Be sure to have your library card number handy if you are logging in from work, home, or school. 

  • Health Reference Center Academic (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)

    This database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

  • Nursing & Allied Health Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)

    Aspects of the Nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration, are covered in this collection for professionals and students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

  • Sports Medicine & Physical Therapy Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)

    This collection covers fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, including topics like proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.

  • Psychology Collection (in the Library) or from (Work, Home, or School)

    This collection gives you access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals on the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time.

  • Salem Health: Salem Health provides online access to the bestselling Magill’s Medical Guide. It covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders.  It’s an authoritative, but easy to use, reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides.  First-time visitors will need to click the "Remote Access" tab to enter the database.  (Outside of the library?  E-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org for log in instructions)

 

You may also be interested in our Heart Disease pathfinder.

 

Web Sites

There are also a variety of excellent resources on this topic available through the Internet, including the following sites:

  • American Association of Diabetes Educators

    The AADE provides tools and information for health professionals who use diabetes self-management training as an integral component of care for persons with diabetes, including lifestyle management for prevention.

  • American Diabetes Association

    A comprehensive site featuring information on diabetes research, education, healthy eating & fitness, and ways you can help.

  • Defeat Diabetes Foundation

    The Defeat Diabetes Foundation is dedicated to the prevention, early detection, and effective self-management of diabetes.

  • Diabetes at FamilyDoctor.org

    Contains information on the basics of diabetes, treatment options, living with diabetes, possible complications, and more.

  • Diabetes from the Mayo Clinic

    Features basic and in-depth information on diabetes, multimedia resources, expert answers, and a "Living with Diabetes" blog.

  • Diabetes at the National Library of Medicine's MedLine Plus

    Look up basic and additional facts on diabetes, access cool tools, learn about the latest diabetes research, and more.

  • Diabetes Action Research and Education Foundation

    The Diabetes Action Research and Education Foundation is committed to the prevention and treatment of diabetes and to the funding of innovative, promising research aimed at finding a cure for diabetes and diabetes related complications.

  • Diabetes at Work

    Aims to reduce employers health care costs and improve productivity by keeping employees healthy.  DiabetesAtWork.org is a collaborative effort of the National Diabetes Education Program (NDEP), National Business Group on Health, National Business Coalition on Health, and America's Health Insurance Plans. 

  • Diabetes Center of the University of California, San Francisco

    Unites the research, clinical care and education aspects of diabetes into a comprehensive program to improve the quality of life of those living with diabetes.

  • Diabetes Center from WebMD

    Find out more about diabetes with news, videos, & a "Diabetes Guide," learn about related conditions, and connect with others. 

  • Diabetes: Diet and Disease from the Food and Nutrition Information Center

    The USDA's Food and Nutrition Information Center collects resources from government, nonprofit, and health web sites on diabetes.

  • Diabetes Exercise and Sports Association

    The Diabetes Exercise & Sports Association (DESA) exists to enhance the quality of life for people with diabetes through exercise and physical fitness.

  • Diabetes Research Institute

    A recognized world leader in cure-focused diabetes research, pioneering new cell-based therapies to restore insulin production.

  • dLife, for Your Diabetes Life

    Covers healthy eating, fitness, product information and reviews, and more.  Features community resources, a forum, blog where you can participate.  Watch dLife online or locally on WCVE/WCVW (check local listings for airtimes).

  • Diabetes Menu from Diabetes Planner

    Diabetes Public Health Resource from the Centers for Disease Control

    Information for the public and professionals about diabetes, including research, statistics, and educational publications.

  • The Heart of Diabetes from the American Heart Association

    The Heart of Diabetes aims to raise diabetes awareness by educating the public about heart disease and stroke, the two main causes of death and disability among people with type 2 diabetes. 

  • International Diabetes Foundation

    The International Diabetes Federation (IDF) is an umbrella organization of over 200 national diabetes associations in over 160 countries. It represents the interests of the growing number of people with diabetes and those at risk by promoting diabetes care, prevention and a cure worldwide.  The IDF also sponsors World Diabetes Day.

  • Joslin Diabetes Center, affiliated with the Harvard Medical School

    The Joslin Diabetes Center is the world's preeminent diabetes research and clinical care organization with efforts in basic research, clinical research, and patient care for both adults and children.

  • Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation

    JDRF is the leader in research leading to a cure for type 1 (juvenile) diabetes in the world.  It sets the global agenda for diabetes research, and is the largest charitable funder and advocate of diabetes science worldwide.

  • National Diabetes Education Center

    NDEP translates the latest science and spreads the word that diabetes is serious, common, costly (yet controllable), and, for many type 2 cases, preventable.

  • National Diabetes Education Initiative

    The National Diabetes Education Initiative® is an educational program on type 2 diabetes designed for endocrinologists, diabetologists, cardiologists, primary care physicians, and other healthcare professionals involved in the care and management of patients with type 2 diabetes. NDEI programs address issues concerning insulin resistance and type 2 diabetes, from the epidemiology and pathophysiology of the disease and its associated complications to the therapeutic options for treatment and prevention.

  • National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse from the National Institute of Health

    Here you will find information on treatment, statistics, complications, clinical trials, and more.  The National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse (NDIC) is an information dissemination service of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK). The NIDDK is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), which is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  

 

Search all of the online resources mentioned above with our Google search box.

 

You may also want to check out the resources at the Internet Public Library. These websites will provide you with reliable information.

 

As always, please feel free to ask a library staff member, or e-mail us at Ask a Librarian!

 

          

compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2010) 

 

 

PRL Website: http://www.pamunkeylibrary.org/  

E-mail: ask@pamunkeylibrary.org  

 

 

counter for wordpress

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.