Get your own free workspace
View
 

Heart Disease

Page history last edited by Carolyn Garner 2 months, 3 weeks ago

 

Heart Disease

A Research Guide

 

What key words will help me find information about heart disease?

Where can I find print resources about heart disease?

What are some good internet sites about heart disease?

 


SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY

 

This guide shows you how to find information in the library about Heart Disease. If you need assistance, please feel free to ask the Library staff. 

 

1. What key words will help me find information about heart disease?

 

To find books that can be checked out, choose the SUBJECT search in the online catalog, and type (one at a time) these subjects:

 

You may also want to browse subjects: when in the catalog, choose BROWSE and type in “Heart Disease." This will allow you to browse narrower subjects related to the disease.

 

2. Where can I find print resources on the Heart Disease in the library?

 

Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in the non-fiction collection at:

 

616.1

Diseases

 

Juvenile non-fiction is not separated from the Adult non-fiction.

 

When you are doing research, make sure that you search in the reference area as well; these books cannot be checked out like the general collection can, but there is a lot of valuable information available.  Some reference books you might look at include the following:

 

R 362.1 HEA 2010

Health and Wellness: illness among Americans

Available at Ashland, Atlee, and Mechanicsville.

R 613 AME

American Medical Association complete guide to prevention and wellness

Available at All Branches, including the Bookmobile.

R YA 610.3 ENC

Encyclopedia of Health

Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, Mechanicsville, and West Point.
R 616.12 AME American Medical Association guide to preventing and treating heart disease Available at Ashland, Atlee, Mechanicsville, and Montpelier. 

 

Your library may not have all these titles, but other resources may be available — when in doubt, just ask the Library staff or e-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.

 

Find books & audiobooks, CDs, DVDs & videos, large print materials,
and much more!

       
or go to
Advanced Search


 

3. What are some good internet sites about heart disease?

 

Databases

Be sure to have your library card number handy if you are logging in from work, home, or school. 

  • Health Reference Center Academic (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)

    This database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

  • Nursing & Allied Health Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)

    Aspects of the Nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration, are covered in this collection for professionals and students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

  • Sports Medicine & Physical Therapy Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)

    This collection covers fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, including topics like proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.

  • Psychology Collection (in the Library) or from (Work, Home, or School)

    This collection gives you access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals on the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time.

  • Salem Health: Salem Health provides online access to the bestselling Magill’s Medical Guide. It covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders.  It’s an authoritative, but easy to use, reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides.  First-time visitors will need to click the "Remote Access" tab to enter the database.  (Outside of the library?  E-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org for log in instructions)

 

Web Sites

There are also a variety of excellent resources on this topic available through the Internet, including:

 

 

Search the web sites above at the same time with our new Google search box

 

You may also want to check out the resources at the Internet Public Library.   The web sites found here will provide you with reliable information.

 

As always, please feel free to ask a Library Staff member, or email us at Ask a Librarian!

 

 

          

compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2010) 

 

 

E-mail: ask@pamunkeylibrary.org  

 

 

counter for wordpress

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.