Get your own free workspace
View
 

Small Business and Entrepreneurship

Page history last edited by Carolyn Garner 2 months, 3 weeks ago

Small Business and Entrepreneurship

 

A Research Guide

 

What key words will help me find information about small business & entrepreneurship?

Where can I find print resources about smal business & entrepreneurship?

What are some good internet sites about small business & entrepreneurship?

 


SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY

 

Are you interested in starting your own business? This guide will help you locate information about starting a business and running it, including business plans, marketing plans, franchises, and legal issues. If you need assistance, please feel free to ask a library staff member or e-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.

 

1. What key words will help me find information about small business & entrepreneurship?

 

To find books that can be checked out, choose the SUBJECT search in PamCat, our online catalog, and type (one at a time) these subjects (links open in a separate window):

 

You may also want to browse subjects: when in the catalog, choose BROWSE and type in “small business”. This will allow you to browse narrower subjects related to starting your own business.

 

2. Where can I find print resources on small business in the library?

 

Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in non-fiction at:

 

332 Financial Economics
338 Production
346 Private Law
381 Commerce
382 International Commerce
384 Communications; telecommunication

650

Business   
658 General Management

 

Juvenile non-fiction is not separated from the Adult non-fiction.

 

When you are doing research, consider books in the reference area.  Unlike our general collection, these books cannot be checked out, but contain valuable information.  Some reference books which may interest you include the following (links open in a separate window):

 

R 332.6 VAL The Value Line investment survey Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, and Mechanicsville
R 338.02012 NOR US 2007 North American industry classification system: United States 2007 Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, and Mechanicsville

R 338.74 STA V.1

R 338.74 STA V.2

(2007-2008

2008-2009)

Standard & Poor's register of corporations, directors and executives Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, Mechanicsville, and Rockville
R 338.75 BUS Business Forms on File Available at Mechanicsville 

R 338.76 VIR V.1,
R 338.76 VIR  V.2

(2009-2010

2007-2008)

Virginia business directory Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, Mechanicsville, Rockville, and West Point
R 384.33 ELE 2009 Electronic America (e-commerce) Available at Ashland, Atlee, and Mechanicsville

R 650 ENC

The Encyclopedia of Business
Available at Ashland

R 650 WIT

 

The IEBM dictionary of business and management

Available at Ashland

R 658.1 VIR 2006

Virginia business resource directory Available at all branch libraries, except Mechanicsville

R 658.8 SEL

Getting hits : the definitive guide to promoting your Web site Available at Hanover

R 975.546 HAN 2005

Hanover County housing and demographics report Available at Ashland, Atlee, Hanover, Montpelier, and Rockville.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Your library may not have all these reference books available, but there will be books, magazines, and newspapers that you can check out — when in doubt, just ask the Library staff.

 

Find books & audiobooks, CDs, DVDs & videos, large print materials,
and much more!

       
or go to
Advanced Search


 

3. What are some good internet sites on starting or growing your own business?

The library provides free access to several business related databases.

  • General OneFile (in the Library) or (Work, home, or school) archives a large number of business-related magazines and professional journals.
  • Business Economics & Theory Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)
    Perfect for business classes, this collection has more than 150 full-text journals to support research in economics, with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database.
  • Insurance & Liability Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)
    This collection takes a broad view of the insurance industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.
  • Small Business Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)
    This collection provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories from over 280 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.  Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs.

 

(Some of our patrons have asked about access to ReferenceUSA, a collection of databases which provide statistical and informational data for businesses, residential areas, law enforcement and more.  Currently, the Library doesn't subscribe to ReferenceUSA (Although it is available nearby at the County of Henrico Public Library.).  E-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org to find out how you can get a Henrico library card for free by showing a PRL card or see below for an alternative list of links for ReferenceUSA information.)

 

There are also a variety of excellent resources about small business and entrepreneurship on the Internet, including sites on the following topics:

 

An Overview of Small Business

  • Allbusiness.com

    This commercial portal offers a host of resources for small businesses and entrepreneurs, including expert advice, online tools, and downloadable forms.

  • The Entrepreneur's Reference Guide to Small Business Information

    Designed for small-business owners and business reference specialists, the guide is an annotated list of more than 179 resources, including how-to books, reference titles, directories, serial titles, and databases.

  • Virginia's Central Business Web Portal

    Chat live with representatives of the Virginia Business Information Center.  Includes information and resources on start-up basics, registration, licensing, expansion, taxes, regulation, economic development, tourism & the film industry, insurance & worker's comp issues, technology, and manufacturing.

  • Yahoo Small Business Resources

    Topics include information on getting started, online business, management, marketing, legal, and more.  Each topic has numerous links to other sites filled with tools and information.

 

Getting Started

  • BusinessOneStop

    The Virginia Department of Business Assistance (DBA) and the Virginia Information Technologies Agency (VITA) offer a portal that provides information about starting and running a business, and includes helpful business resources along with information for out-of-state enterprises planning to establish themselves in Virginia.

  • CCH Business Owner's Toolkit

    Contains answers to business, tax, and legal questions as well as practical advice to help the small-business owner work more efficiently, save money, and comply with guidelines.

  • Entrepreneur's Help Page

    Advice for those looking to start up a new business. Business section includes a checklist and articles on business insurance, buying a franchise, and credit. Financial Advice contains information on financing a new business, venture capital tips, and bank loans. The Legal section explains taxation, bankruptcy, and intellectual property issues.

  • Entrepreneurship.org

    This site is "a free online international resourcedesigned to help build entrepreneurial economies.

  • Small Business Administration - Richmond, VA District Office

    The SBA provides information on starting, financing, and expanding small business. There is also an online hotlist with many business resources and links to other sites.  Have a question?  Check out the SBA Answer Desk. 

  • Small Business Knowledge Base

    Includes ten general categories address small business management issues such as starting-up, Web marketing, and personnel management in a how-to format. Links to book reviews and related sites.

  • Starting a Business in Hanover County

    If you are thinking about starting your own business in Hanover County, you'll find lots of useful information here.

  • Virginia Business Registration

    An 82-page, step-by-step guide for businesses operating in Virginia, this source from the SCC provides instructions on how to start a business and lists the various agencies that must be contacted before opening a new business. It also includes the required forms.

  • Virginia Business Resource Directory

    A guide to different types of assistance available for existing and potential businesses, this publication concentrates on management, money, and marketing, and includes information on starting a business, taxing and licensing requirements, and government regulations.

 

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes

  • U.S. Census Bureau - NAICS Page

    The North American Industry Classification System will soon replace its SIC codes. The U.S. Census Bureau created this site to provide detailed information on the new NAICS codes.

  • Standard Industrial Classification Search

    Allows the user to search the 1987-version SIC manual by keyword to access the descriptive information for a specified 4-digit SIC

 

Business Plans

  • Business Planning Resource Center

    Provides information on start-ups, sample business plans, and tips and tricks for writing and submitting a plan.

  • Carnegie Library of Pittsburg: Business Plans and Profiles Index

    This index lists types of small businesses and a corresponding sample business plan, profile or book about the business with sources provided after each entry. Entries that refer to actual sample plans are in bold print. If the plan or profile is online, a link is provided. This not only links to the online version of "Business Plan Handbook" volumes 1-11, but a number of other sites that offer free sample plans.

  • More Business

    Start-up information, sample business plans, and templates, tools, and checklists.

 

Financing and Venture Capital

  • Angel Capital Association (ACA) Member Directory

    ACA is the trade association of leading angel investment groups in North America. It provides professional development, best practices, networking and collaboration opportunities for investors who belong to member groups. The organization also serves as the public policy voice of the angel community and is focused on advancing policies at the state and federal level that support and promote angel investing.

  • Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

    Compendium of federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and nonfinancial assistance programs administered by departments of the federal government

  • Garage.com

    This California-based group uses the Web to match investors and entrepreneurs

  • National Venture Capital Association

    Most venture capital firms belong to this national association, which is located in Arlington, Virginia. The web site is a directory of these firms.

  • Vfinance.com!

    A global portal for companies in need of private capital and private investors looking for investment opportunities.

 

8(a) & Small Business Resources

The 8(a) program, named for section 8(a) of the Small Business Act, provides participants access to a variety of business-development services, including the opportunity to receive federal contracts on a sole-source or limited-competition basis. Under the 8(a) program, SBA (Small Business Administration) enters into prime contracts with federal departments and agencies and subcontracts the performance of work to disadvantaged small businesses that are certified participants in the program.

Legal Resources

Tips for doing legal research on the Internet

  1. Get a second opinion. Look at several reputable web sites to see if they agree.
  2. Check the date of the publication. What was legal last year may be illegal now.
  3. Check to see who is writing the information or producing the site. If you are not sure that the information is correct and timely, consult a lawyer.

 

 

Accounting

  • Tax and Accounting Sites Directory

    A comprehensive index of tax and accounting resources that provides links to federal and state forms. This site is a useful starting point for small-business owners who need information on tax and accounting topics.

  • Virginia: Local Taxes on Business

    This publication summarizes local taxes on businesses in Virginia.

  • VSCPA CPA Referral Online

    The Virginia Society of Certified Public Accountants provides a free service to help connect a you with a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) in your geographic region that can best meet your financial and business needs. You can look up a company by name or by city, services offered or industries served. A link is provided to find a CPA in another state.

  • You can also view, select, and download multiple IRS forms and publications for small business at www.irs.gov/businesses/small/index.html or you can call 1-800-829-3676 to order forms and publications through the mail at no cost.

     

 

Demographics & Data

  • Census Bureau Economic Programs

    The Census Bureau collects a variety of economic statistics arranged by geography, sector, and frequency.

  • Economic Assumptions for the United States and Virginia

    This publication offers economic forecasts and reviews of recent national and Virginia business trends. Summary tables of Virginia labor force and employment forecasts are given on an industry-by-industry basis. Included are overviews of such national and international economic topics as monetary and fiscal policy, employment and income, and imports and exports.

  • Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond Publications

    The Fifth District of the Federal Reserve Bank produces a variety of publications designed to promote economic and financial literacy and to advance a greater understanding of the Federal Reserve’s work.

  • Labor Market Information from the Virginia Workforce Connection

  • U.S. State Exports Database

    The International Trade Administration provides current and archived state export statistics that are taken from the Census Bureau’s Origin of Movement state export series. United States exporters supply the information for goods leaving the country.  The series focuses on transportation origin and does not measure state distribution of United States export production or export-related jobs.

  • Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service, University of Virginia

    Provides business, demographic, and economic indicators.

     

Home-Based Business

Franchising

 

E-Commerce

  • CommerceNet

    Represents an industry association of nearly 150 organizations doing business on the Internet.

  • Web Marketing Today

    This site touts itself as “the largest collection of articles, links, and resources on electronic commerce to be found at any single place on the planet.” One goal is to provide resources for learning how to start an e-business, so that entrepreneurs can spend their time learning rather than searching the Web for information. Topics include store design, online transactions, store software, and model cases.

  • E-Marketer

    Commercial organization offering current awareness in the field of e-commerce.

  • Electronic Commerce Guide

    iWorld’s Guide to Electronic Commerce is a comprehensive resource for commerce on the Internet. It contains a list of links to sites designed to enhance commerce and trade: business promotions, online banking, corporate advertising, sources on government regulations, etc.

  • eVA: Virginia’s Total e-Procurement Solution

    eVA is a Web-based purchasing system used by Virginia government. State agencies, colleges, universities, and many local governments use eVA to announce bid opportunities, request bids and proposals, receive quotes, and place orders for goods and services.

  • How Stuff Works

    A short essay defining e-commerce

  • SmartBiz.com

    Articles, reports, and checklists on how to do business on the Internet.

 

Magazines & Newspapers

An * denotes magazines and/or newspapers available for checkout at the library.

 

Organizations and Commissions

  • National Association for the Self Employed (NASE)

  • Small Business Council of America (SBCA)
  • State Corporation Commission

    This commission is vested with regulatory authority over many business and economic interests in Virginia. It serves as the central filing agency for corporations in Virginia, sets rates charged by large investor-owned utilities, and provides assistance to Virginians who have valid disputes with regulated companies.

  • Virginia Center for Innovative Technology

    This organization works with companies and organizations throughout Virginia to develop technology industries. Its critical issues: developing the workforce, creating infrastructure, maintaining an entrepreneurial climate, and deploying technology.

  • Virginia Department of Business Assistance

    The Virginia General Assembly established the Department of Business Assistance in 1996 as an agency to serve the commonwealth’s business community. It offers such services as access to capital, small business counseling, workforce training, and business problem-solving.

  • Virginia Economic Bridge The Virginia Economic Bridge, Inc., is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization with a mission to promote business, industry, and educational partnerships throughout the state.
  • Virginia Economic Development Partnership Created in 1995 by the Virginia General Assembly, the Virginia Economic Development Partnership focuses on new business investment, international trade growth, and the expansion of existing Virginia businesses.
  • Virginia Small Business Development Center (SBDC) Network This organization consists of 29 local Small Business Development Centers throughout Virginia that serve businesses by providing counseling, training, and information resources.

 

Reference USA Alternatives

Profiles on over 29 million US businesses from Dun & Bradstreet, the world's most trusted source of business insight for over 165 years.

Includes links to trade leads and market research.

 

Search all of the online resources above with our Google search box.

 

You may also want to check out the resources at the Internet Public Library. These websites will provide you with reliable information.

 

As always, please feel free to ask a library staff member, or email us at Ask a Librarian!

 

 

●    ●    ●    ● 

 

compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2010)

 

 

PRL Website: http://www.pamunkeylibrary.org/

E-mail:ask@pamunkeylibrary.org

 

 

 

 

  

counter for wordpress
 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.