Get your own free workspace
View
 

The American Civil War

Page history last edited by Carolyn Garner 2 months, 3 weeks ago

 

 

THE AMERICAN CIVIL WAR

A Research Guide

What key words will help me find information about this topic?

Where can I find print resources about this topic?

What are some good internet sites about this topic?

 


SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY

 

This guide tells how to find information in the library about THE AMERICAN CIVIL WAR. If you need assistance, please feel free to ask the Library staff. 

 

 

1. What key words will help me find information about this topic?

 

To find books that can be checked out, choose the SUBJECT search in the online catalog, and type (one at a time) these subjects:

 

You may also want to browse subjects: when in the catalog, choose BROWSE and type in “United States History Civil War 1861-1865”. This will allow you to browse narrower subjects related to the war.

 

 

2. Where can I find print resources on the Civil War in the library?

 

Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in the Non-fiction Stacks at:

 

973.7

[Civil War in United States]   

 

When you are doing research, make sure that you search in the reference area as well; these books cannot be checked out like the general collection can, but there is a lot of valuable information available.  Some reference books you might look at might include

 

R 973.7 LIB

 

The Library of Congress Civil War Desk Reference

Available at Ashland, Goochland, King & Queen, Mechanicsville, Montpelier, and Rockville Branch Libraries.

R 973.703 BOA

The Civil War Dictionary Available at Ashland and Mechanicsville Branch Libraries.
R 973.7 WOO Atlas of the Civil War Available at Goochland, King & Queen, and Mechanicsville Branch Libraries.
R YA 973.7 BAR The Civil War and Reconstruction : A Student Companion Available at Goochland, Mechanicsville, and Upper King William Branch Libraries.
R 973.7 ENC Encyclopedia of the American Civil War Available at Goochland and Upper King William Branch Libraries.

 

Your library may not have all these resources available, but other resources will be available — when in doubt, just ask the Library staff. or e-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.

 

For more in depth information, you may want to visit the Hanover Branch Library.  As part of the extensive collection of Virginiana at that library, the following is included:

 

R 973.7 WAR War of the Rebellion: Records of the Union and Confederate Armies

 

Much of the Virginiana Collection is also available on our Google Books bookshelf.

 

Find books & audiobooks, CDs, DVDs & videos, large print materials,
and much more!

       
or go to
Advanced Search

 

3. What are some good internet sites about this topic?

 

The library offers access to online reference resources related to history.  If you are logging in from outside the library, you will need your library card number, which you will find on the back of your library card.

  • Salem History: Salem History includes the complete content of three series of historical reference - Milestone Documents, The Decades, and Great Lives from History(Outside of the library?  E-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org for log in instructions)
  • US History Collection (in the Library) or from (Work, Home, or School)
    This collection provides coverage of the current thinking and events in U.S. History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
  • War & Terrorism Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)
    Researchers and students of history, social science, and current events will gain insight into conflicts: their causes, their impact, and how they are perceived on a global scale.
  • World History Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)
    This collection provides balanced coverage of events in World History for both the novice historian and the advanced academic researcher.

 

You may also be interested in looking at our Biographies and More pathfinder.

 

In addition to the resources the library provides, there are a variety of excellent websites that include information on this topic, such as:

 

 

Search all of the online resources mentioned above for a particular search term with our new Google search engine.

 

 

 

You may also want to check out the resources at Internet Public Library. This should provide you with reliable information.

 

As always, please feel free to ask a Library Staff member, or email us at Ask a Librarian!

 

 

 

          

compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2010) 

 

 

E-mail: ask@pamunkeylibrary.org  

 

 

counter for wordpress

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.