Get your own free workspace
View
 

Career and Job Searching Information

Page history last edited by Carolyn Garner 4 weeks ago

 

Career and Job Searching Information

A Research Guide

 

What key words will help me find information about careers and job searching?

Where can I find print resources about careers and job searching?

What are some good internet sites about careers and job searching?

 


SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY

 

Are you looking for a job?  Thinking of changing or jump-starting your career?  This guide shows you where and how to find information in the library about careers and job searching.  If you need assistance, please feel free to ask the Library staff or email ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.

 

1. What key words will help me find information about careers and job searching?

 

To find books that can be checked out, choose the SUBJECT search in the online catalog, and type (one at a time) these subjects:

 

 

2. Where can I find print resources on careers and job searching in the library?

 

Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in the Non-fiction Stacks at:

 

331.702 [Choice of vocation]

650.14

[Success in obtaining jobs and promotions] 

 

 

 

 

Keep in mind that Juvenile non-fiction is not separated from the Adult non-fiction.

 

Some specific titles in our circulating collection that you may be interested in might include the following:

 

650.14 ROS The Resume Handbook: How to Write Outstanding Resumes & Cover Letters for Every Situation by Arthur D. Rosenberg
650.14 MCK The Everything Get-A-Job Book by Dawn Rose McKay
650.14 BOL 2010 What Color is Your Parachute? 2010: A Practical Manual for
Job-Hunters and Career-Changers by Richard Nelson Bolles

 

When you are doing research, make sure that you search in the reference area as well; these books cannot be checked out like the general collection can, but there is a lot of valuable information available.  Some reference books you might consider include:

 

 

R 025.06 DIK

Guide to Internet Job Searching Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, Hanover, King and Queen, Mechanicsville, Montpelier, Rockville and Upper King William.

R 331.128 MCG

McGraw-Hill's Big Red Book of Resumes Available at Atlee and Mechanicsville.

R 331.702 ENC

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance

Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, Mechanicsville, Rockville, Upper King William and West Point.

R 371.42 UNI

Occupational Outlook Handbook Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, Hanover, King and Queen, Mechanicsville, Montpelier, Rockville, Upper King William and West Point.

 

Your library may not have all these resources, but other resources may be available — when in doubt, just ask the Library staff.

 

Find books & audiobooks, CDs, DVDs & videos, large print materials,
and much more!

       
or go to
Advanced Search


 

3. What are some good internet sites about careers and job searching?

 

Web Sites & Databases

 

The library has several databases you may find helpful when researching careers. 

  • Criminal Justice Collection (in the Library) or from (Work, Home, or School)
    This collection has access to 150 journals with topics perfect for those studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security.
  • Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)
    This collection provides coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.
  • Vocations & Careers Collection (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School)
    This collection provides content from general career guides to over 300 largely full-text, highly specialized industry journals.

 

There are also a variety of excellent resources on this topic available through the Internet, including the following sites:

 

Search all of the web sites above at the same time using our new Google search box

 

You may also want to check out the resources at the IPL2 website. IPL2 is the result of a merger between the Internet Public Library and the Librarians' Internet Index, two popular recommended web sites.

 

If you are looking for assistance using the computer for online job searching or you want to find out how you can improve your resume, call or visit the library or e-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org and ask about Reference on Demand.  Our Reference Librarians are ready to help you find your perfect job.

 

As always, please feel free to ask a Library Staff member, or email us at Ask a Librarian!

 

 

 

 

 

          

compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2010) 

 

 

E-mail: ask@pamunkeylibrary.org  

 

 

tumblr counter

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.