Get your own free workspace
View
 

Biographies and More

Page history last edited by Carolyn Garner 2 months, 3 weeks ago

 

Biographies and More

A Research Guide

 

What key words will help me find information about biographies?

Where can I find print resources about biographies?

What are some good internet sites about biographies?

 


SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY

 

This guide shows you how to find authoritative and reliable biographical information in the library about famous and notable people. If you need assistance, please feel free to ask a Library staff member or e-mail a Reference Librarian at ask@pamunkeylibrary.org

 

1. What key words will help me find information about biographies?

 

To find books that can be checked out, choose the SUBJECT search in the online catalog, and type (one at a time) these subjects:

 

You may find that if you use the occupation of a person or group of persons or a person’s last name that you will see results in fiction, as well as non-fiction and biographies.

 

You may also want to browse subjects: when in the catalog, choose BROWSE and type in “Biography”. This will allow you to browse narrower subjects related to biographical information.

 

2. Where can I find print resources on the biographies in the library?

 

Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in the non-fiction shelves at:

 

B (ex. B Lin)

Biography  
920-928 Collected Biographies
929 Genealogy

 

Keep in mind that Juvenile non-fiction is not separated from Adult non-fiction if you have a particular age or reading level need.

 

When you are doing research, make sure that you search in the reference area, too.  These books cannot be checked out, but there is a lot of valuable information available to photocopy or use in notes.  Some reference books you might consider include the following:

 

R 016.92 BUR

The biography book: a reader's guide to nonfiction, fictional, and film biographies of more than 500 of the most fascinating individuals of all time

Available at Mechanicsville.

R 509 SCI

(3 vols.)

Science and scientists Available at Ashland.

R 741.5 PEN

(3 vols.)

U-X-L graphic novelists Available at Ashland and Mechanicsville

R YA 809 MAJ

Major authors and illustrators for children and young adults: a selection of sketches from Something about the author Available at Goochland.

R 920 AFR

The African American national biography Available at Ashland.

R 920 AME

American Indian biographies Available at Ashland, Goochland, Mechanicsville, and West Point.
R 920.02 RIV The Riverside dictionary of biography Available at All Branches.
R 920.03 CUR 1940-2009 Current biography yearbook Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, King & Queen, Mechanicsville, Montpelier, Rockville, Upper King William, and West Point.  Note: Not all years will be available at each branch.
R 920.0755 MCC Virginia immigrants and adventurers, 1607-1635: a biographical dictionary Available at Atlee, Goochland, Hanover, and Mechanicsville.

R 920.0755 DIC

(3 vols.)

Dictionary of Virginia biography Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, and Mechanicsville.  Vol. 1 available at Hanover, King & Queen, Montpelier, Rockville, Upper King William, and West Point.

 

Your library may not have all these reference books available, but there will be books, magazines, and newspapers that you can check out — when in doubt, just ask a Library staff member or e-mail ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.

 

Find books & audiobooks, CDs, DVDs & videos, large print materials,
and much more!

       
or go to
Advanced Search

 

3. What are some good internet sites about biographies?

 

There are a variety of excellent resources on this topic available on the Internet, including online databases that the library subscribes to and free or educational web sites.

Databases

The library subscribes to a number of online databases that have reliable biographical information in a variety of subjects, including the following:

 

Web Sites

These web sites are a sample what is available online. 

  • Biography.com
  • Rulers
    Contains lists of heads of state and heads of government of all countries and territories, from 1700 to the present, in most cases. Also included are the subdivisions of various countries, as well as a selection of international organizations.
  • Women in World History
    This unique site is full of information and resources to help teachers, students, parents, history buffs, and the interested public learn about women’s history in a global context.
  • De Imperatoribus Romanis: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Rulers and Their Families
    The encyclopedia consists of an index of the emperors who ruled during the empire's 1500 years, biographical essays, family trees, an index of significant battles in the empire's history, capsule descriptions and maps of these battles, and maps of the empire at different times.   These contents are supplemented by an ancient and medieval atlas, a link to a virtual catalog of Roman coins, and other recommended links to related sites. The contents of DIR have been prepared by scholars and have been peer-reviewed for quality and accuracy before publication.
  • Nobelprize.org
    Find out about the writers, scientists, and others who have won Nobel Prizes since the Award’s inception in 1901 and their work.
  • Classical Composers Database
    Find biographies, compositions, news, concerts, classical sheet music and recordings, books about composers and classical music, and loads of other information about composers and their music
  • The Academy of Achievement’s Achiever Gallery
    Discover role models from nearly every career imaginable.
  • The Internet African American History Challenge 
    This site is an interactive quiz that helps you sharpen your knowledge of African American History. It's an "open book" test. If you're not sure of an answer, you can check their reference material for help.
  • OmniBiography.com
    Search over 110,000 online biographies by name or country or browse alphabetically.
  • Infoplease Biography
    Features 30,000 notable people.
  • Short Biographies
    Links to thousands of biographical resources.

 

You can search all of the web sites (and more!) listed above with our Biographies and More Google Search Engine.

Loading

 

You may also want to check out the “Biography” resources at the Internet Public Library. These web sites will provide you with reliable information.

 

As always, please feel free to ask a Library Staff member, or email us at Ask a Librarian!

 

         

 

compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2010) 

 

 wikilogo.jpg

E-mail: ask@pamunkeylibrary.org  

 

home.JPG

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.