Get your own free workspace
View
 

Creating Citations

Page history last edited by Carolyn Garner 2 months, 3 weeks ago

 

Creating Bibliographic Citations

A Research Guide

 

What key words will help me find information about citations?

Where can I find print resources about citations?

What are some good internet sites about citations?

 


SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY

 

This guide shows you how to find information in the library about creating bibliographic citations.  If you need assistance, please feel free to ask a Library staff member or e-mail a Reference Librarian at ask@pamunkeylibrary.org

 

Bibliographic citations refer to an alphabetical list of works cited, included at the end of your paper, book, etc. The list of works enables the reader of your work to locate your source materials.

The main components of a bibliographic citation are the author's full name (last name first), the title of the work (with all important words capitalized) and the publication information which includes the place of publication, the publisher's name, and the date of publication.

Citation styles include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • MLA style was developed by the Modern Language Association and is most often used in the arts and the humanities. This style of citations and bibliographical format uses parenthetical referencing and may include an alphabetical list of sources on a "Works Cited" page at the end of the paper, as well as notes (footnotes or end notes).
  • The Chicago Style (CMOS) is used by writers in many fields.  Its guide is The Chicago Manual of Style. Some social sciences and humanities scholars use the nearly identical Turabian style.
  • The style of the American Psychological Association, or APA style, is most often used in social sciences.  APA style uses Harvard referencing within the text, listing the author's name and year of publication, keyed to an alphabetical list of sources at the end of the paper on a References page

Some of our databases that you can use for research, like General OneFile, can automatically create citations for articles and items within the database, depending on the citation style you require.

 

1. What key words will help me find information about citations?

 

To find books that can be checked out, choose the SUBJECT search in PamCat, our online catalog, and type (one at a time) these subjects:

 

 

You may also want to browse subjects.  When you're using PamCat, choose BROWSE and type in “Style”. This will allow you to browse narrower subjects related to creation citations, usage, and style in the English language.

 

2. Where can I find print resources on creating citations in the library?

 

Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in the non-fiction shelves at the following locations:

 

808

Rhetoric & collections of literature

 

Keep in mind that Juvenile non-fiction is not separated from the Adult non-fiction, if you have a specific age-related or reading level need.

 

When you are doing research, make sure that you search in the reference area, too.  These books cannot be checked out, but there is a lot of valuable information available for you to photocopy or add to notes.  Some reference books you might look at include the following titles (links to PamCat will open in a separate window):

 

R 808 LI Electronic styles: a handbook for citing electronic information Available at Ashland and Atlee

R 808 PUB

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed. Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, and Mechanicsville.

R 808 SAB

The Gregg reference manual: a manual of style, grammar, usage, and formatting Available at All Branches

R 808.02 TUR

A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations: Chicago style for students and researchers

Available at All Branches

R 808.027 CHI

The Chicago manual of style Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, Hanover, King & Queen, Mechcanicsville, Montpelier, Rockville, and West Point.

 

Your library may not have all these resources available, but there will be books or other resources you can check out — when in doubt, just ask a Library staff member or e-mail a Reference Librarian at ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.

 

Find books & audiobooks, CDs, DVDs & videos, large print materials,
and much more!

       
or go to
Advanced Search

 

3. What are some good internet sites about creating citations?

 

There are a variety of excellent resources available on the Internet, including the following sites (links will open in a separate window):

 

  • Modern Language Association (MLA): Format, Bibliography, Style
    Modern Language Association (MLA) promotes the study and teaching of language and literature.
  • The Chicago Manual of Style Online
    Online edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. Also includes Chicago Style Q&A, tools for editors, and book & CD-ROM content.
  • American Psychological Association (APA) Style
  • The rules of APA Style, detailed in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, offer sound guidance for writing with simplicity,
  • Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
    The Purdue University Online Writing Lab serves writers from around the world and the Purdue University Writing Lab helps writers on Purdue's campus.
  • Citing Electronic Information
    Many people want to know how to cite information that they find on the Internet in school papers, theses, reports, etc.  Here are some places to go for recommended electronic information citation guides.
  • EasyBib: Free Bibliography Maker
    The free automatic bibliography and citation maker. Create a Works Cited list instantly! (MLA, Chicago, APA)

 

You can search the sites listed above with our Creating Citations Google Search box.

Loading

 

You may also want to check out the resources at the Internet Public Library. These websites will provide you with reliable information.

 

As always, if you have questions or need assistance, please feel free to ask a Library staff member, or email us at Ask a Librarian!

 

         

 

compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2010) 

 

 

E-mail: ask@pamunkeylibrary.org  

 

 

tumblr counter

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.