Religions & Philosophies of the World
A Research Guide
What key words will help me find information about religion and philosophy?
Where can I find print resources about religion and philosophy?
What are some good internet sites about religion and philosophy?
SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY
This guide shows you how to find information in the library about religion and philosophy around the world. If you need assistance, please feel free to ask a Library staff member or e-mail a Reference Librarian at ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.
1. What key words will help me find information about religion and philosophy?
To find books that can be checked out, choose the SUBJECT search in PamCat, our online catalog, and type (one at a time) these subjects (links to subjects will open in a separate window):
You may also want to browse subjects. When you're using PamCat, choose BROWSE and type in “Religion” or "Philosophy." This will allow you to browse narrower subjects related to religions and philosophies throughout time and around the world.
2. Where can I find print resources on religion and philosophy in the library?
Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in the non-fiction shelves at the following locations:
|
100-199
|
Philosophy & Related Disciplines
|
| 200-299 |
Religions |
Keep in mind that Juvenile non-fiction is not separated from the Adult non-fiction, if you have a specific age-related or reading level need.
When you are doing research, make sure that you search in the reference area, too. These books cannot be checked out, but there is a lot of valuable information available for you to photocopy or add to notes. Some reference books you might look at include the following titles (links to titles in PamCat will open in a separate window):
|
R 103 ENC
(multiple volumes)
|
Encyclopedia of Philosophy |
Available at Atlee. |
R 103 ROH
|
A world of ideas: a dictionary of important theories, concepts, beliefs, and thinkers |
Available at Ashland, Atlee, and Mechanicsville. |
| R 133 ENC |
Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology |
Available at Ashland. |
| R 133 MAN |
Man, Myth, and Magic |
Available at Atlee and Mechanicsville. |
| R 133 MEL |
New age encyclopedia |
Available at Mechanicsville. |
|
R 200 ENC
(multiple volumes)
|
Encyclopedia of Religion |
Available at Mechanicsville. |
R 200.973 MEL
|
Encyclopedia of American Religions |
Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, Upper King William, and West Point. |
| R 202 JOR |
Dictionary of gods and goddesses |
Available at Ashland, Atlee, and Mechanicsville. |
| R 220 AFR |
African Americans and the Bible : sacred texts and social textures |
Available at Ashland and Mechanicsville. |
| R 220.3 AND |
Where to find it in the Bible |
Available at Mechanicsville. |
| R 220.3 UNG |
The New Unger's Bible Dictionary |
Available at Ashland and Mechanicsville. |
| R 220.6 HIE |
The Trinity guide to the Bible |
Available at Ashland, Atlee, and Mechanicsville. |
| R 291 LEW |
Cults : a reference handbook |
Available at Ashland, King & Queen, and Mechanicsville. |
| R 291.3 BRO |
Encyclopedia of sacred places |
Available at Ashland and Mechanicsville. |
| R 292.1 MAR |
Cassell's dictionary of classical mythology |
Available at Atlee and Mechanicsville. |
| R 297.1 ALI |
The meaning of the Holy Qu’r¯an |
Available at Ashland and Mechanicsville. |
| R 909 ENC |
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World |
Available at Atlee, Goochland, and Mechanicsville. |
Your library may not have all these resources available, but there will be books, magazines, and newspapers that you can check out — when in doubt, just ask a Library staff member or e-mail a Reference Librarian at ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.
3. What are some good internet sites about religion and philosophy?
There are a variety of excellent resources available on the Internet, including the following sites (links will open in a separate window):
- ReligionFacts.com
The goal of ReligionFacts is to provide free, reliable information — "just the facts" — on the various answers that have been given to these questions, as well as the rituals and customs that go along with them.
- ReligiousTolerance.org
This site has information covering about 40 organized religions and faith groups.
- Religion-Online.org
More than 6,000 Full texts articles and chapters by recognized religious scholars. Topics include Old and New Testament, Theology, Ethics, History and Sociology of Religion, Communication and Cultural Studies, Pastoral Care, Counseling, Homiletics, Worship, Missions and Religious Education.
- Virtual Religion Index
This site from Rutgers University is designed to advance research in matters of religion and philosophy on a number of topics, including Ethics, Comparative Studies, the major world religions, and more.
- The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Religion and Philosophy
The DOAJ offers free access to readers to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. It covers all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system (such as peer review) to guarantee the content. Readers have the right to "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles"
You can search the sites listed above and over 100 related magazines and journals with our Religions and Philosophies of the World Google Search box.
You may also want to check out the resources at the Internet Public Library. These websites will provide you with reliable information.
As always, if you have questions or need assistance, please feel free to ask a Library staff member, or email us at Ask a Librarian!
● ● ● ●
compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2010)

Comments (0)
You don't have permission to comment on this page.