Get your own free workspace
View
 

Computers and Technology

Page history last edited by Carolyn Garner 2 months, 3 weeks ago

 

Computers & Technology

A Research Guide

 

What key words will help me find information about computers & technology?

Where can I find print resources about computers & technology?

What are some good internet sites about computers & technology?

 


SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY

 

This guide shows you how to find information in the library about computers. If you need assistance, please feel free to ask a Library staff member or e-mail a Reference Librarian at ask@pamunkeylibrary.org

 

1. What key words will help me find information about computers & technology?

 

To find books that can be checked out, choose the SUBJECT search in PamCat, our online catalog, and type (one at a time) these subjects:

 

 

You may also want to browse subjects.  When you're using PamCat, choose BROWSE and type in “Computers” or "Technology". This will allow you to browse narrower subjects related to computers & technology.

 

2. Where can I find print resources on computers & technology in the library?

 

Most of the books will be shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in the non-fiction shelves at the following locations (links to subject headings will open in a separate window):

 

004

Data processing & computer science
006 Special computer methods
025 Library operations
302 Social interaction
600 Technology
603 Dictionaries & encyclopedias

 

Keep in mind that Juvenile non-fiction is not separated from the Adult non-fiction, if you have a specific age-related or reading level need.

 

When you are doing research, make sure that you search in the reference area, too.  These books cannot be checked out, but there is a lot of valuable information available for you to photocopy or add to notes.  Some reference books you might look at include the following titles (links to PamCat will open in a separate window):

 

R 004.03 DOW Dictionary of computer and Internet terms Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, and Rockville.
R 004.678 INC
Dictionary of the internet Available at Ashland, Atlee, and Goochland.
R 004.03 HEN
Encyclopedia of computer science and technology Available at Goochland and Mechanicsville.
R 005.5 JOY
The 2007 Microsoft Office system plain & simple Available at All Branches and Bookmobile.
R 006.7 STA
 
How to do everything with your web 2.0 blog Available at All Branches.
R 500 NEW
 
The new book of popular science Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, and Mechanicsville.
R 602.3 EXP Exploring tech careers : real people tell you what you need to know Available at Ashland.
R J 600 TEC Technology Available at Mechanicsville.

R 603 HOW

(multiple volumes)

How it works: science and technology Available at Mechanicsville.

R J 603 EXP

(multiple volumes)

Exploring technology Available at Ashland, Goochland, and Mechanicsville.
R 609 CAR Scientific American inventions and discoveries Available at Ashland, Goochland, and Mechanicsville.
R 640.73 CON Consumer reports buying guide Available at All Branches.
R J 909 TEC Technology in world history Available at Ashland, Atlee, and Goochland.

 

Your library may not have all these resources available, but there will be books, magazines, and newspapers that you can check out — when in doubt, just ask a Library staff member or e-mail a Reference Librarian at ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.

 

Find books & audiobooks, CDs, DVDs & videos, large print materials,
and much more!

       
or go to
Advanced Search

 

3. What are some good internet sites about computers & technology?

 

The Library provides free access to Gale's Computer Database (in the Library) or (Work, Home, or School) , where you can find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

 

There are also a variety of excellent resources available on the Internet, including the following sites (links will open in a separate window):

 

  • Computers and the Internet” from the Internet Public Library
  • Computer/Internet Tutorials from the Anniston-Calhoun County Public Library.  Has tutorials on basic computer skills, PC software, and the internet
  • CNet
    CNET's resources include product reviews, news, price comparisons, free software downloads, daily videos, and podcasts.
  • PCMag.com
    PCMag.com provides expert tech product reviews, previews, tips, advice, news, price comparisons & software downloads.
  • PCWorld.com
    PCWorld is your trusted source for tech product reviews, tech news, how-to's and free downloads.
  • ZDNet.com

    ZDNet has tech news, analysis, commentary, and product reviews for IT professionals.

  • Tom's Hardware
    The Internet's premiere resource for hardware news and reviews.
  • Wired
    Get in-depth coverage of current and future trends in technology, and how they are shaping business, entertainment, communications, science, politics, and more.
  • Engadget
    Engadget is a web magazine with daily coverage of everything new in gadgets and consumer electronics.
  • Slashdot
    A great source for technology related news with a heavy slant towards Linux and Open Source issues.
  • Ars Technica
    The PC enthusiast's resource. Power users and the tools they love, without computing religion
  • The Register
    The Register covers issues IT professionals face at work every day – in software, hardware, networking and IT security. The Register is also known for its "off-duty" articles on science and tech culture.
  • AV Comparatives
    Independent tests and comparisons of anti-virus software.

 

You can search the sites listed above with our Computers & Technology Google Search box.

Loading

 

Watch the library's embedded YouTube playlist of Basic Computer Tutorials (see playlist contents).

 

 

As always, if you have questions or need assistance, please feel free to ask a Library staff member, or email us at Ask a Librarian!

 

         

 

compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2010) 

 

 

E-mail: ask@pamunkeylibrary.org  

 

 

tumblr counter

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.