Get your own free workspace
View
 

Learn a Language

Page history last edited by Carolyn Garner 2 months, 3 weeks ago

 

Learn a Language

A Research Guide

 

What key words will help me find information about languages?

Where can I find print resources about languages?

What are some good internet sites about languages?

 


SELECTED SOURCES AT PAMUNKEY REGIONAL LIBRARY

 

This guide shows you where and how to find information in the library about languages. If you need assistance, please feel free to ask a Library staff member or e-mail a Reference Librarian at ask@pamunkeylibrary.org

 

1. What key words will help me find information about languages?

 

In PamCat, try using the name of the language you wish to learn (ex. Japanese, German, Spanish, French, etc.) together with the key word “language.”  You can also use key words like "vocabulary" or "writing."

 

You may also want to browse subjects.  When you're using PamCat, choose BROWSE and type in [Name of language] language. This will allow you to browse narrower subjects related to learning a language.  For example, to browse subjects relating to learning French, type in "French language."

 

2. Where can I find print and audiovisual resources on learning languages in the library?

 

Language titles are shelved according to their Dewey Decimal Classification number in the non-fiction shelves at the following locations:

 

Call No.

Subject Heading
420 English and Old English
430 German and Germanic languages
440 French and related Romance languages
450 Italian, Romanian, and Rhaeto-Romanic languages
460 Spanish and Portuguese
470 Latin and other Italic languages
480 Classical Greek and other Hellenic languages
491 East Indo-European & Celtic languages
492 Afro-Asiatic languages; Semitic
493 Non-Semitic Afro-Asiatic languages
494 Ural-Altaic, Paleo-Siberian, Dravidian
495 Languages of East & Southeast Asia
496 African languages
497 North American native languages
498 South American native languages
499 Miscellaneous languages

 

Keep in mind that Juvenile non-fiction is not separated from the Adult non-fiction, if you have a specific age-related or reading level need.

 

When you are doing research, make sure that you search in the reference area, too.  These books cannot be checked out, but there is a lot of valuable information available for you to photocopy or add to notes.  Some reference books you might consider include the following titles (links to PamCat will open in a separate window):

 

R 433 BYR

McGraw-Hill's German student dictionary

Available at Upper King William.

R 443 CAS

Cassell's French dictionary: French-English, English-French
Available at Ashland, Atlee, and Mechanicsville.

R 453 LAR

Larousse concise dictionary: Italian-English, English-Italian
Available at Upper King William.

R 463 HAR

Harper Collins Spanish-English, English-Spanish dictionary
Available at Atlee.

R 463 LAR

Larousse mini-dictionary: Spanish-English, English-Spanish
Available at King & Queen.

R 463 WIL

Webster's Spanish-English/English-Spanish dictionary
Available at Ashland, Atlee, Goochland, Mechanicsville, Rockville, and Upper King William.
R 469 TAY A Portuguese-English dictionary Available at Mechanicsville.
R 473.2 CAS Cassell's new Latin dictionary. Latin English, English-Latin Available at Ashland, Goochland, Hanover, and Mechanicsville.
R 473 STO More Latin for the illiterati: a guide to everyday medical, legal, and religious Latin Available at Mechanicsville.
R 483.21 POC The pocket Oxford classical Greek dictionary Available at Goochland.
R 491.5 BER The basic English-Chinese, Chinese-English dictionary Available at Ashland and Atlee.
R 492.7 OXF
The Oxford English-Arabic dictionary of current usage Available at Mechanicsville.
R 495 YOS Kodansha's furigana Japanese dictionary: Japanese-English, English-Japanese Available at Goochland.
R 495.1 CHI Chinese-English dictionary: Cantonese in Yale romanization, Mandarin in pinyin Available at Mechanicsville.
R 495.92 NGU NTC's Vietnamese-English dictionary Available at Mechanicsville.

 

Your library may not have all these resources available, but there will be books, audiobooks, and DVDs that you can check out — when in doubt, just ask a Library staff member or e-mail a Reference Librarian at ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.

 

Find books & audiobooks, CDs, DVDs & videos, large print materials,
and much more!

       
or go to
Advanced Search

 

3. What are some good internet sites about languages?

 

There are a variety of excellent resources available on the Internet, including the following sites (links will open in a separate window):

 

BBC Languages

BBC Languages is a web portal for anyone interested in learning or improving any of the 36 languages on the site. Includes language courses, foreign language television, learning games, and an area devoted to foreign language teachers and tutors.

 

Bell English Online

Improve and practice English on the Internet for free at Bell English Online, "the Internet's premier multimedia website for learning the English language."  Free registration is required.

 

Effective Language Learning

Includes free language lessons, language learning tips and much more in Chinese, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.

 

Forvo

Forvo is the largest pronunciation guide in the world.  Ask for a word or name, and another user will pronounce it for you. You can also help others by recording your pronunciations in your own language.

 

Goethe-Verlag

Check your proficiency in 24 foreign languages or improve your language skills with practice tests from Goethe-Verlag!

 

LanguageGuide.org

A free online resource for learning French or English with exercises and audio.  Available for native speakers in 19 languages.

 

Learn English Online

Learn English online with the help of this free website from the British Council with games, stories, listening activities and grammar exercises.

 

Learn Indian Languages

Learn to speak Indian languages in English, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil and Telugu language scripts.

 

LiveMocha

Livemocha is an online language learning community, offering free and paid online language courses in 35 languages to more than 6 million members from over 200 countries around the world.

 

My Happy Planet

At My Happy Planet, you can send and receive messages with native speakers around the world, learn about cultures and languages through lessons created by My Happy Planet members, and watch videos uploaded by members in multiple languages.

 

TaeKim's Guide to Learning Japanese

This guide was created as a resource for those who want to learn Japanese grammar. The explanations are focused on how to make sense of the grammar from a Japanese point of view.

 

UniLang

UniLang is an online language community that unites language lovers from all over the world.  Includes print and audiovisual resources on dozens of languages.

 

You can search any or all of the sites listed above with the Languages Google Search box.

 

Loading

 

You may also want to check out the resources at the Internet Public Library. These websites will provide you with reliable information.

 

As always, if you have questions or need assistance, please feel free to ask a Library staff member, or email us at Ask a Librarian!

 

         

 

compiled by the PRL Reference and Training Department (2011) 

 

 

E-mail: ask@pamunkeylibrary.org  

 

 

vBulletin tracker

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.